The past few days have been emotionally draining for me. no details, but Terry and I have to go through it every few years just to be reminded exactly how much we really do love each other. See, me being fairly thick (ok you know that song “Thick as a Brick” might be about drug culture but it could equally apply to my ability to relate to people I am close to) and Terry being very intuitive makes for…well…interesting times.

The good news is, through all of it we still love each other to distraction and the whole idea is to work through the issues, get them out on the table and exorcised. Which we did.

And now I’m all sore. Emotional upheaval gives me a hangover extraordinaire. Like, joints aching, whinewhinewhine O poor babeeee.

And now we’re all ready for Christmas, to get through the holidays without anyone holding back anything only Terry wants me to make a Christmas list which he’s been after this since August and I have NO idea what to put on it! Some black socks? I always like those. Maybe a new apron? Oh heck I don’t know. I want my kids over for the day, good food set out, and some laughs, that’s really it.

And that wonderful comfortable feeling of knowing our philosophical game of Whack-a-Mole has been won. Maybe I should turn in the string of tickets I got from playing it and get a cheap trinket Made in China.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, Dewicate feewings, spouse. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Bella Rum says:

    That’s what marriage is. I say it’s always better to bring it out, lay it on the table and beat it till it submits. No sweeping it under the rug around here. As for your Christmas list, I know what you mean. We decided not to exchange gifts with the adults this year. I’m getting the grandkids a few things and I’m stuffing everyone’s stocking – adults too – and that’s it. I feel less pressured, less blue and more like those folks in those holiday movies.

  2. Whack-a-Mole is a good description of what marriages go through from time to time.

    My husband’s getting socks and underwear this year… cuz he’d not giving me a list. Just sayin πŸ™‚

    Cheers, jj

Leave a Reply

