Ok. The turkey is smoked. Instructions and recipe is at Rootie’s Kitchen, if you’re interested. The dressing is made and in the freezer. Ditto on the recipe. The cranberry sauce (ditto) is cooling on the stove, soon to be put in pretty bowls and chilled. #4 and I went to the grocery store early this morning (apparently everyone else had the same idea, because it was kinda busy even tho it was BEFORE 7am!) and loaded up on sweet potatoes (get this! 28 cents a pound! I think we should eat them more often at that price.), apples, collards (I actually opted for the pre-chopped ones, since the sweet potatoes were so cheap), green beans, and these beautiful baby portabella mushrooms…see, I am going to make my own green bean casserole with homemade cream of mushroom soup because all the other stuff is either made already or flamin’ simple.

The floors are mopped. The bathrooms are cleaned and there’s fresh sheets on the guest bed. Table linens are washed and folded and ready to put out tomorrow. Guess what. I am using paper plates and plastic cutlery. Oh sure, there’s the 18 place settings of silver my grandmother gave me and this is like…the ONLY time of year I’d ever use it, but I don’t want to have to wash up much and you can’t put this stuff in the dishwasher. Tablecloths and napkins are easy- stuff them in the washing machine and go…handwashing? no thank you. And I don’t have 18 place settings of dishes and it would just seem weird to use Chinet paper plates and real silver cutlery. Even tho I am using real cloth napkins. meh.

Mom called and they are on their way to be here roughly 2-ish. Supper tonight will be a simple vegetable soup and the bread Dad said he’s bringing. Breakfast tomorrow will be egg sandwiches. Dinner at 2. 12, maybe 13 adults possibly 14 if Arthur comes, 5 kids, and pie. All set.

Man, I love cooking for a crowd.

I took some time this morning to write out a timetable- when this needs to go into the oven and when that needs to go on the stove, and wrote the recipes out if Mom wants to help cook. So I reckon I’m as ready as I’ll ever be.

Oh…I need to go get some milk.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in family, food, friends IRL, Holidays!, home and hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Bella Rum says:

    Sounds like you have it all under control. I know everyone will love it. Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Deedee says:

    Where did you find that advertisement?

Leave a Reply

