So far so good

CJ got all (ok mostly) moved out yesterday. is stuff is minimal- a bed, a small couch, a bunch of clothes and one box of assorted other stuff. His new apartment posses a peculiar odor, reminiscent of old food and urine (nice.), and his room is tiny, but he managed to fit everything into it, and since he didn’t call in a panic last night (well, hard to, since he lost his cell phone a while back) I reckon everything is fine.

Except he left his 2 dressers (cheap, goodwill) and will need to find a way to get them out of here. Perhaps since Terry is off tomorrow (YAY!) we’ll load them on the truck and donate them back to Goodwill.

There’s no noisy alarms going off all morning, to get smacked on the snooze button and repeat performance for the next hour. There’s no one taking an extremely long, use-all-the-hot-water shower, and drop-4 towels-on-the-wet-floor, gripe and curse morning performance…gosh it’s actually peaceful and I am not sitting around anticipating an altercation over how come I didn’t bake him any biscuits! Nice!

Nope, I don’t have to be concerned over his whims, inconsistencies, unreasonable demands. I don’t have to wonder when/if he’s coming in, when/if he’s leaving, whether or not I have to cook enough to feed someone who might/might not be there. The laundry is his problem. So is the food.

I did, because I did this for his older brothers, take him to the grocery store and get him set up with about $50 worth of food. Enough to feed him for a week or so until he gets his next paycheck and is ready. Easy fix stuff like ramens, and sausage dogs. It’s up to him to get to the dollar store for some dishes, and Big Lots for cookware. Maybe his roommates will be nice enough to let him use their pots until then. I have no idea. He has this week off from school, so it’s not like he won’t have time to deal with it all. I am not bothering myself about it.

He was worried last week, wondering if he’ll be ok on his own. He really is kind of a homebody Mama’s Boy for all his adult posturing and bluster. He wants my help with all of it, how to buy food, going to the apartment office to sign up, all that stuff. His brothers never wanted that kind of hand-holding. I reckon it doesn’t bother me much, but I would like to see him do this stuff on his own, without me standing there like a 5th wheel.

Anyway, I am looking forward to some peace now. I am happy he’s out on his own. Happy for him *and* the rest of us.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *eep!, Awesomeness, Dewicate feewings, Hooray!, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So far so good

  1. JerseyChick says:

    If you really want to see him do stuff on his own (which is, IMO, a very good thing for both of you)(and for SD, and #4), change the locks on your doors and get a new cell number. Make his old bedroom into a den for SD. Don’t let his subconscious think “It would be easy to just move back home again.”
    Maybe working through having a messy roommate- either negotiating or learning contentment- would be better than moving back to your clean home.
    PLEASE don’t let him end up like my 48-year-old sister, for whom my 84-year-old mother helps with rent, grandkid school expenses, and gas cards!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    It’s all good. Breathe!

Leave a Reply

