Sliding back into old habits

The cause of all this anxiety


Attention: I am not wanting or needing sympathy for the hip issue. I do appreciate it. However, even tho it will become a regular feature here, if you’ve said “oh poor baby!” once, you don’t need to repeat it. Right now it is the elephant in my living room and I don’t intend to ignore it, but it is not a bid for sympathy. /end statement

Way back when, I reckon around 2005 when the old hip really starting giving me fits, I developed habits that allowed things to get done while still accomodating orthopedic shortcomings. I am glad I did that, because now I know what to do with the current issues. I don’t get all hand-flappy and call Terry in a panic when stuff starts to misbehave or make it’s unwelcome presence known. I just go back to what worked before.

The hip feels pretty good first thing in the day, after I’ve been off of it for 10 hours, so that’s when things get done. I will work like a banshee from the time I get up at 6am until 11-12, when body parts begin to go “ummm, better call it quits, Hoss…”. Fortunately most things can get done in 6 hours. Then I’ll sit quietly down with a basket of hand-work, turn the music on if nothing interesting is on the TV, and make something ornamental. 3 hours later it will be time to go to the school and spend 30 minutes walking up and down the school driveway, taking names and keeping children from getting run over, and by then the hip calls it quits. Actually it quits about 10 minutes before the job is done, but I’ll be double(profanity deleted) before I let DePuy orthopedics make me quit something that I’ve committed to. Tylenol and another hour off of it when we get home makes it possible to stand long enough to cook dinner.

Some days are better than others. Sometimes the issue is just an awareness that something is off-kilter down there, and not particularly painful. Other days it’s kinda bad…like…well, like it was 3 years ago, a month before the initial hip replacement when I had trouble walking to the mailbox and up the stairs. Today is not like that. Today, so far (it’s almost 11:30), has been quite good, with the ability to get on my knees and pull weeds, and carry a 5 gallon bucket of soapy water to the mailbox to give it a much needed scrub. However, on the way back after cleaning the mailbox, the hip said “ok honey, thats enough for today” and that was that. So now, the hip and I are sitting in a chair, listening to some quiet music.

I am trying to be thankful for all this. Romans 8:28 says “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” and I firmly believe that includes the stuff we don’t really like. Peaches said to me “Be a good Calvinist, and remember that God has a purpose for everything, and eventually this will work into something amazing. He is a God of surprises, so sit back and trust that He’ll do what He will.”

So at this point, I have no idea what’s in store for the future. I don’t know if Dr S will want to put in a new hip, or just keep an eye on this one. I don’t know if he does decide to replace it, what will happen there. Last time wasn’t as easy as it shoulda been, so the possibilities for the future worry me, no matter what Paul and Peaches say. Oh, I have no doubt it will eventually all work out somehow. Past experiences tell me that God is quite capable of taking a really rotten (to me) circumstance and turning it into something quite wonderful, so I trust *that*…it’s just…kinda scary, y’know, to not know what the process is going to involve, and I do NOT wait well. The appointment to see Dr. S, get evaluated, and find out just wot’s wot, is on Wednesday at 9:30. Until then I am going to worry and make up Worst Case Scenarios.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in The Mess. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sliding back into old habits

  1. JerseyChick says:

    I’m very sad (I am, and haven’t said it in a while) that you are in pain. I hope it gets cleared up soon.

    Meanwhile, when I’m tutoring, and therefore unable to do wifely things in the afternoon- like prep dinner- I use this great crockpot my friend gave me. We use crockpot recipes 3 times a week now. Here’s a lovely site with a variety of recipes: http://www.50plusfriends.com/cookbook/crockpot/index-5b.html
    If I lived next door, I’d be bringing over casseroles, in spite of the fact that my cooking is so sub-par to yours. May these recipes be much better for you!

    • rootietoot says:

      Thanks, when I consider that it could be a brain tumor and I’d be losing memories and personality, I’m actually ok with it all.
      RECIPES! I love new recipes and crock pot ones will be just the ticket for The Mess!
      Thanks!

  2. jeanie says:

    I haven’t been by in an age – masses of sympathy to you! I hope that your new hip goes in easily and with as little fuss (and cost) as possible

    • rootietoot says:

      Good thing is, Jeanie, it’s not going to cost a penny. DePuy orthopedics (the manufacturers of the old new hip) is totally footing the bill for all of this. Even if it turns out I don’t need a replacement.

Leave a Reply

