Lather, rinse, repeat

Sometimes it feels like a broken record. In the mornings:

“#4! Time to get up! Up and at ’em! Shake a leg! Get a move on! Time to get dressed! Breakfast is ready! Do your chores! Stop talking and finish (insert chore. He has 3- empty the dishwasher, take out the trash, feed the dogs) Have you finished (chore X,Y,Z)? Stop talking until you’re done.
Are you done yet? Stop talking until you’re done. You haven’t finished. Hush. Finish up. Eat your breakfast. No you can’t get on the computer. Put your shoes on. Stop talking until you’re finished getting dressed. Shoes. Have you brushed your teeth? Go brush your teeth. Don’t talk while you’re brushing your teeth. We’ll talk in the car. Don’t forget your lunch. Do you have your homework? Time to go! Did you brush your teeth? Ok…let’s go!”

In the afternoons:

“Do you want a snack? you have 30 minutes before you need to get started on your homework. Time for homework! Don’t talk while you’re doing your homework. Get back to work. Don’t talk while you’re doing you homework. Do you have all your assignments? You can get on the computer when you’re finished. Don’t talk while you’re doing your homework. We’ll talk about that when you’re finished. Did you do your math? Don’t talk while you’re doing your homework. I see that you did well on your test, but you still need to not talk while you’re doing your homework.”

Now, lest you think I am purely of the “children should be seen and not heard” school, I am not. We talk all the time. But I kind of insist on the work getting done, and he kind of stops whatever he’s doing to talk. We have a 15 minute ride to and from school every day, and that is a free-zone conversation wise.

Right now he’s working on math, and asking me “I wonder why fire is hot” and “how to you spell ‘mechanical'” and “supper smells good, what are we having?” and whenever he is talking, he is not doing math.

It’s not a thing I am disturbed about. David was precisely the same way, mind flitting in 100 directions, always thinking and wondering, and wholly unable to concentrate on the not-the-most-pleasant-task at hand. He got better, eventually, able to stick to the job until it was done. But at 11, like #4 is now, he needed constant supervision, continual reminders to focus, and a reward when it was all done. Like supper.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, Good grief, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lather, rinse, repeat

  1. JerseyChick says:

    Yep, that’s our house, too. Sometimes I wonder how my #3 can stand the repetition, but, like yur #4, he bounces back the next day. O, for the energy of youth!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Oh, good grief. I remember that period. My son was in to jokes. He thought he was hilarious and he actually was… about half the time. The rest was mind numbing. He came home every day and did a stand-up routine in the family room.

    My neighbor’s kid was completely self-motivated. I used to tell her that I was my son’s motivation.

  3. Jo says:

    Geez, my daughter’s only 6 and she jibber-jabbers all the time. It’s the same scenario in our house in the mornings: she talks nonstop and I chivvy her along to get ready. I can only imagine how much more she’ll be talking when she’s 11.

Leave a Reply

