More cause for celebration

Today I saw my nephrologist. To recap: I spent most of my life in pain due to a malformed hip, which became much worse in time but the orthopedists said I was too young for a hip replacement and refused to give me pain medication. I self medicated with massive doses of motrin which fried my kidneys and put me in the care of a nephrologist. My kidney function was down to about 20% and creatinine was up high enough to causes noises about dialysis.

Today I saw the Good Dr. Courage and he said “Ehloo Ma! You look gooood, Ma, you numbahs ah good, you function is stable, you potassium is exxxxcelllllent and jus’ lookit you weight! Ma, you doin’ ver’ well, ver’ well indeed.” Dr. Courage is from someplace in Africa, I am not sure where, but I love the way he calls me Ma! and says “Ehloo”

Anyway, my numbahs ah goood:

BP down to 110/60 (from a high of 170/110)
My weight is down by 10 pounds since the last visit 3 months ago (only 35 more to go!)
AND the kidney function numbers are down where they needed to go down and stable (when they needed to go up but we’ll both take stable)

And so, add that to CJ’s good news, and that Terry has an entire 3 day weekend OFF…
I’m all…ok…what’s the catch? Who dies?

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Dewicate feewings, Disease and infirmity, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More cause for celebration

  1. SuperBee says:

    YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY! : ) : ) : )

    Don’t be Jewish about this. Just accept the gift without looking for the counteraction. : )

    Congrats on the improved kidney function (and weight loss!)

  2. Tracey says:

    WEll done you! This is all GOOD karma, ya know!

  3. JerseyChick says:

    Happy dance!!

  4. Bella Rum says:

    Oh, this is such a happy place over here. I just spent a few minutes catching up, and I couldn’t be happier for you, Rootie. Oooh, CJ, how proud you’ve made your Mama. And good on you Rootie for losing 10 pounds and getting good news from the Doc. Yippee!

Leave a Reply

