Finally figuring it all out

I am about finally figuring out how I want to live, what kind of house, where it’s located, what I want to drive, all that. I reckon 45 is as good a time to have that happen as any.

I’ve lived in just about everything. A small apartment, a substandard house (no heat or a/c, among other things), a 30 yr old housetrailer down a dirt road, small farmhouse (the first place we owned. Loved that house), split level in the ‘burbs, and now The Dream House On The Golf Course. Which place do I love the best? Where would I live if someone plopped them all in front of me and said choose?

That first house we owned. I’d go back to that in a New York minute. 1300 square feet, large kitchen/greatroom (we took out walls to make that), 3 bedrooms 2 baths on 2 beautiful acres in the boondocks. We lived there 6 years and made improvements. My first rose garden was there. The yard had 4 large trees including a massive live oak in the front. No pine trees. Let me repeat that. No Pine Trees. It was close enough to town to be convenient, far enough out to be private. I would take that house back today. I’d swap it one for one with the Dream House On The Golf Course. Well, ok maybe not that, but I’d certainly do what I could.

Now that David is making plans to move out, I am looking at our house, this 5 bedroom thing with all the other stuff (huge dining room, office, massive game room, blah blah) and thinking "this is way too big." Nice, yes. We’ve updated the kitchen, put down new flooring, painted and painted, added built in cabinetry…really it’s a nice house, and great for a family, just too much for 3 people and I don’t particularly care anything about living on the golf course. Location isn’t important. Status is irrelevent.

And there all this with Terry’s work. He wants to work somewhere else. I’m ok with him taking a pay cut to do it. Sell this big house. Find a job. Buy a couple of acres somewhere, and put a manufactured home (they used to call them housetrailers, but they ain’t housetrailers no more…), a garden, some fruit trees and a big barn type thing for Terry to build his truck or work on furniture.

This life we have right now, I’m glad we had a chance to live it for a while.  It has been good to have it, instead of wishing we did and wondering what it would be like.  Now I can step back to what I know works for us without regrets or coveting someone else’s life.

I’m ready for less. I want less.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Dewicate feewings, home and hearth. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally figuring it all out

  1. Bella Rum says:

    I completely get what you’re saying. We’re a bit older than you but sometimes I wish we’d chosen a bit more wisely on this house when we bought it about 8 years ago. We were kind of in a pinch because H was downsized, but we really should have looked at one story houses and a little smaller and less maintenance. Next time!

    • rootietoot says:

      This house was exactly what we needed when we bought it. A bedroom for everyone, and a big game room for the boys and their friends to hand out in. Now, though, we have 2 rooms we don’t need at all, and the game room is kind of superfluous. I’ve been looking at plans for modular houses, and there are several in the 1500 to 2000 sq ft size that are exactly what I’d like. The house we have now is about 3200 and that’s alot to keep clean when you’re me.

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Oh, and I just wanted to say, I do hope things work out for Terry getting a more satisfying job. It has made all the difference in our quality of life, and isn’t that what it’s about. It’s all over so quickly.

  3. Stone Fox says:

    i feel like i’m on the other side of the curve: we’ve got a cute little house on a couple of acres in the country, but i’m not quite sure if it’s going to be big enough for all of us in a few years. it has no basement and no cold storage, and there’s really nowhere for the kids to have space for their toys, other than their rooms. it’d be nice to have a rumpus room downstairs.

    • rootietoot says:

      When our kids were the ages of your kids we had that old small farmhouse, and it was kind of small for our growing family. Now tho…different story. If you weren’t in Canada I’d offer a swap.

  4. schmoozeplug says:

    It’s nice to read what you wrote. I have a blog (www.makeyourmistake.com) – being 23 I find that I constantly want more; even when I know I don’t need it…and it won’t necessarily make me MORE happy. Good to read this!

Leave a Reply

