Update on the wienerdog

Rosy continues to show cautious signs of improvement.
She is no longer incontinent- which is huge for me. She whines when she needs to go, that means she’s feeling something back there, very good says the vet. I love her but am not going to keep an incontinent dog.

Her legs won’t support her, but she can move them to a squat position when I take her outside to potty. Also her tail has tone, she can wag it, and it’s not just flopping there.

The main thing is this: is her disc merely herniated, in which case bed rest and tincture of time will result in recovery, or is the disc fully ruptured, which means she won’t ever use her back legs again. A myelogram (expensive and not without it’s own set of risks) would determine that but even if we did know, the recovery and treatment would be the same, so it would be information, and that’s all. We have a swimming pool and Dr. E said that’s about the best physical therapy she could do. So, come summer when the water warms up, I’ll get her a little life jacket and let her swim.

Then this: if she won’t use her back legs, and yet is not incontinent will I be happy with keeping her as an inside house dog, where it will be easy for her to scoot around because we have kind of slick wood floors, and what would we do with her when we travel, and what about a wheelchair?

All questions to be answered in the future, when that comes.

I do know this, I don’t want her to be kept in crate, to be carried outside 4 times a day to potty, then either kept in the crate or in my lap. She’s active, and curious, and this crate rest is not making her happy. If it turns into a permanent thing, it’s not a good life for her.

So, we’ll see. Dr. E was cautiously optimistic, and so am I.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in dogs!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on the wienerdog

  1. hlawnicki says:

    I may have to follow this.

  2. Bella Rum says:

    I’m so glad there’s hope for Rosie.

    I’ve been catching up on what’s been going on with you. Things are sounding better and better with CJ and his frontal cortex…ha!

    Sorry about your shoulder. Pain sucks.

    As for Terry’s job, I truly empathize. The last five years of H’s “real” working days were horrible. Stress is horrible for your health. I know I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know, but I’ve often thought about Terry in that unhealthy environment – both physical and mental. Best of luck to him.

    • rootietoot says:

      I wish there were some magic way of finding a job where the people he’d work with were decent and honest. He had that at his last job, but business wasn’t fantastic and they didn’t need him, the job before was great but right after he left the company went bankrupt (and took T’s retirement saving with it). This one, I don’t understand it. I simply do not understand how a business can function with these kinds of people running it.

Leave a Reply

