What’s that I see over thar?

Is it…a ray of sunshine? It looks like a light at the end of the tunnel! Could it be an oncoming train? I don’t hear a horn.

See it’s like this. I talked to CJ last night. You know, CJ. The one who moved out before he graduated High school. The one I’ve been gnawing on my back leg about, a-feared he wasn’t going to graduate at all, at times convinced he was dead and buried or sold into drugged sexual slavery in Thailand. The one I have called The Village Idiot. Yeah that one. anyway, here’s what happened (condensed version…we talked for over an hour, also a new development)

“MOM! I found the truck I want! A 1986 Chevy 4×4! He’ll swap it for my hunting rifle and The Green Bean!” (the green bean is CJ’s old nonfunctioning ’93 S-10 truck, on blocks in our back yard)

“Son, I’m not paying insurance on that. It’s too big and I won’t.”

(mild hostility) “WELL FINE THEN, I’LL JUST GET A JOB AND PAY THE INSURANCE MYSELF.”

(choking back the cheeri…I mean…the tears) “Are you sure, how can you do that and finish school and go to college?”

(slightly milder hostility) “I WANT THIS TRUCK, IF THAT’S WHAT I HAVE TO DO THEN I’M GOING TO MAKE IT HAPPEN.”

“sigh…well, ok, if that’s what you have to do, then” (wiping tear of elatio….i mean…regret)

Also in the conversation:

“Mom, I made an arrangement with my science teacher” (this is the only class he’s failing, and needs it to graduate) “He’s giving me until the week before graduation to get the missing assignments caught up, and I am gradually getting them done.”
Now, his grades are good in that class, solid B test scores, good scores on the assignments he *has* done. If he can do this he’ll pull a good middle B in that class, and graduate with a 3.2 or better.
*if* he gets it done.

“Mom, I’m thinking NADC might be too expensive, and I can get the same education somewhere else for alot less”
Glory Hallelujah. He’s got the money, and if he’s careful with it, he’ll only need a part time job to fill in the living expenses. Oh. Mah. Gawd. Is that a flicker of common sense I see?

Also
“mom, the people I’m living with will be happy to take Roxie as long as she’s spayed first. They have 2 other dogs including another golden lab about her age. They live on a farm with lots of woods around, and she would be able to run and play with the other dogs. They’re fine with her coming here to live.”

See folks, this is what people like me call Genuine Answered Prayer. Specific Answered Prayer. Every single bit of it. Dad called it Maturation of the Frontal Cortex. Maybe so…but it smells like the hand of God to me.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Awesomeness, Dewicate feewings, God Stuff, Hooray!, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s that I see over thar?

  1. Sue says:

    When my children were young, a wise person gave me this:

    “Though I do not believe that a plant will spring up where no seed has been, I have great faith in a seed. Convince me that you have a seed there, and I am prepared to expect wonders.”
    (Henry D. Thoreau)

    I thought of it often, and it kept me hopeful when I really wondered if things would turn out the way we all want them to. And then when they do!! nothing is quite like it!!

  2. “To be old and wise you have to be young and dumb.” I don’t remember who said this but I think it most definitely applies here 🙂

Leave a Reply

