a brief glimpse of optimism and possibly maybe something to get excited about

So, Will is my eldest, at 22 yrs old. A brief history: Perfect baby, compliant child, rough teen years culminating in a precipitous packing up and throwing out at 18. Struggles, works, struggles some more, relationship issues, stuff evens out, now at 22 he’s held a job for a good long time.

So, he took me to lunch yesterday and announced (!!) that he’s ready to go to college.
I sat calmly, while inside I danced on the table.

Education, he said, I want to be a teacher. Probably middle school, probably English or History.
More internal dancing. He’d be an amazing teacher. Mr. Strickland, Mr Jones, male teachers of his past, amazing men. Thank you Mr Strick & Jones.

Deep Contended Sigh.

I’m going to get a haircut, Mom. I am going to meet AstroGirl’s family over Easter and they’re all Baptists.

I’m kinda sad to see the ponytail go, as it’ suits him, but good for him to make that change for the sake of familial peace and harmony.

We’re talking marriage, Mom.

I’m ok with that. She’s a fine young woman. She likes me and I like her. I would not have issues with having her around as a daughter in law.

Wow…y’know this is all kind of really in a way about as cool as it gets, to see all this gelling, really it is. It gives me hope for the future, yes it does.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Awesomeness, Dewicate feewings, family, Hooray!, kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a brief glimpse of optimism and possibly maybe something to get excited about

  1. Tracey says:

    How very, very cool!! Go Will!

  2. Congrats to Will! I wish him and AstroGirl all the happiness in the world 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Awesome!

  4. That is great news. Congratulations! I’m thrilled for you and your son.

    A teacher- WOW! That is very cool.

    Enjoy the weekend.
    jj

  5. jeanie says:

    Oh wow – your little boy is growing up!!!! Congratulations (because it is so all your doing)

Leave a Reply

