Yesterday was spent delightfully parked in a comfortable chair, tv on, dogs rotating on and off my lap, coffee cup full, occasional small chore making me feel useful…a good day.

Sons of Anarchy is a show I enjoy. I would not call it “good”, it’s no Little House on the Prairie. I mean, they’re sneaking around trying to hide an illegal cache of AK-47’s, they shoot at people and kinda…well it’s a biker gang, ok, that controls a small town and through force and meanness keeps away Starbucks and Walmart so the small business owners kinda love them but kinda don’t. Some of the plot lines can be quite funny…however, it is Not For Children. And it has Ron Perlman, who’s ugly mug is so interesting and I LOVE his deep, gravely voice, and Katey Segal who plays the Matriarch of the Bikergang and smacks a “skinny bitch” in the face with a skateboard because she’s hit menopause. Not the skinny bitch, but Katy Segal character…has the menopause, so she smacks the girl…ok you know what I mean. Anyway. There’s moments of tenderness. The son of the Katey Segal character has a junkie exwife who gave birth prematurely, and all the main characters are constantly in and out of the hospital, reading childrens books in the NICU to this tiny, tiny baby. Something about a roughed up dude in a biker jacket, all covered with tattoos and sporting a gunshot wound reading Goodnight Moon…well ok. You get the picture. There’s a love-hate relationship between the gang and the local constabulary. Anyway, if you like that sort of thing, it’s a pretty good show, plus it has Ron Perlman and Katey Segal.

I also watched Dolores Claiborne, which was a Stephen King novel, but more of a mystery kind of thing and not full of slime and eyeballs and weirdness, but kind of sad, really. In the previews the character was portrayed as some kind of psycho…not at all. Seriously, it’s a pretty good movie, not for kids certainly, but an interesting character study and the relationships between Dolores, her daughter, her employer, and all…very interesting stuff, imo. Then there’s that wonderful line “Now, you listen to me, Mr. Grand High Poobah of Upper Buttcrack, I’m just about half-past give a shit with your fun and games.” That’s a pretty classic Stephen King turn of phrase. Plus it’s all in this thick Maine accent, all “ayeh” and stuff.

Today, dunno. It’s Friday and I’ve getting ready for the weekend to do. Tidying up a bit, finishing of the laundry, plotting of meals and pressing clothes for church. Maybe if it warms up there’ll be yardwork of this or that nature. #4’s school Spring Fling is tonight and I promised to take him, so I’ll let him run around on the football field and perhaps I’ll take a book, sit on the bleachers and read while he does that. He’ll find someone to hang out with, and I won’t. BUT I *will* do my part to help fund art and music.

In the mean time, I’m thinking of Post of Substance. Something to write other than this day to day “here’s what I did aren’t you thrilled” nonsense.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in home and hearth, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Kathryn says:

    Delores Claiborne has one of my favorite movie quotes of all time, “Sometimes, being a bitch is all that a woman has left to hold on to.” That, and I love Kathy Bates.

Leave a Reply

