In the garden

It's small, but it's MINE

This weekend was one of those miraculous times, the reason I live in the Deep South. It was a couple of days that made the scorching, oppressive days of August worth living through. 65 degrees, sunny, birds singing, and all the menfolk of the household willing (maybe not eager, but one takes what one can get) to pitch in their strong arms and backs, and HELP.

Gardening time. Yes folks, in mid-February in South Georgia it’s time to get cracking on the vegetable garden.

So Saturday, Terry and I went to Home Depot (not the usual choice but we had a couple of gift cards) and bought supplies. Bags of dirt…excuse me…Garden Soil…and a basket full of PVC fittings and lengths of pipe, because I wanted a cold frame and Terry wanted to build something. It’s nice when 2 desires meet and creativity blooms.

Sunday, after church, all 3 household menfolk conspired to move a raised bed out of a shady spot, 2 feet over into a sunny spot. It’s funny when such a short distance makes that much difference, but it does. So they moved cinderblocks, compost, and a heap of dirt. Now I have a clear, shady spot in the little garden for maybe a table and chair, or a small swing, or something. I got all complicated and made noises about perhaps a small brick patio type thing, and I’d still like that, but in the future, maybe. Right now, a chair.

Trellises were assembled, the cold frame is ready save for the visquine that Terry will liberate from work (at $20 a roll, he decided liberating some from work would be more cost effective, and since he’s working 14+ hours a day he thinks of it as…y’know…a bit of something due, particularly since he’s the boss of the plant where it’s located and no one will say anything). Peas were planted on the trellises, salad greens in the cinderblock holes, and other good stuff (beets, peppers, eggplants and tomatoes) await warmer days and coldframe assemblage.

And it all looks so pretty! All I lack now is raking up pinestraw to cover the pathways, there’s plenty of that in the front yard, and figuring out what to plant in the teeny flower beds alongside the gate. Right now a riotous rose (Belle Story, gorgeous flowers but Thorns From Hell) commands the fence to the left, and a tame and sedate thornless rose (Zephirine Drouhine- raspberry pink blooms that smell like lemon sherbet) to the right, #4 bought morning glory seeds, and I’m thinking zinnias might be cheerful.

It’s like having another room, all my own, to do with whatever I please. I can fill it with flowers and delicious vegetables, and have a peaceful place to sit and read, commune with God and nature, or the neighbor over the fence, with sky above and birds providing the soundtrack.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in family, In The Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the garden

  1. seekraz says:

    There are few things as wonderful as opening a fresh bag of “dirt” and cramming your hands into it and pulling up a handful and smelling the richness of earth that greets you in that pull of breath!

  2. Bella Rum says:

    When I called Dad this morning, he was looking at seed catalogs. It won’t be too much longer for us.

    Zinnias. I love them and so do the butterflies. Nice.

  3. Kathryn says:

    Dangit! Why haven’t I thought of cinder blocks? I hate it when the obvious escapes me. I’m planning a raised bed garden myself at my new home. Not too ambitious, probably just a few tomatoes; but enough for a single person home, with a little left to share. I had settled on trying to find a few old tractor tires to make beds in my backyard, but I don’t know why in the world I didn’t think of cinder blocks! Rootie to the rescue! Want to see how the uppity folks in Atlanta do raised bed gardens? Check out those prices! http://www.farmerd.com/product/farmer_d_raised_beds/gardens_to_go (I’d still love to have a few though ;))

    • rootietoot says:

      Cinderblocks rock because you can turn them on their sides and utilise the holes, they’re just right for individual marigolds or nasturtiums, I put lettuce in them because lettuces have practically no root system and do great. They don’t leach nasty an unpronounceable chemicals into the soil like treated lumber does and they don’t ever rot. Granted, they aren’t as aesthetically pleasing as, say, bricks, but they’re way easier and cheaper to put together. I find with a 4×8 bed I can get 6 tomato plants w/ cages, 4 peppers (2 at each end), and 6 basils (inside the tomato cages). I’d love to have gorgeous artistically designed raised beds, but lack the ability to come off my wallet long enough to do so.

Leave a Reply

