Cooking

Last night I dreamed about cooking, all night long. I’d wake up and think “ooh, that sounds good I need to remember it.” Then I’d fall back asleep and dream about something else. I dreamed of eggplant (fresh from the garden, #4 wants to grow some this year), with tomatoes (fresh from the garden) and basil (ditto), baked with parmesan cheese. And macaroni and cheese, the kind Terry made a couple of weeks ago, with cream and munster cheese and a sprinkling of cayenne pepper. There was a pork loin sometime last night, but I don’t remember how I fixed it, only that I was visiting a friend who lived in a very dangerous Chicago tenement when I did it. (where did that come from? I don’t have a friend in Chicago). Beets, cooked and chilled and shredded in a salad, gorgeous burgundy beets with their earthy-sweet flavor and silky texture.

I’d wake up and think “YUM!” and go right back to sleep. I wasn’t hungry- last night’s supper was quite satisfying. I guess my mind just works in that food sort of way.

The vegetables in particular. I know exactly where that came from. We went to Home Depot and bought bags of Miracle Grow Garden Soil to rejuvenate the raised beds, and Terry got the goods to make a cold frame (YAY!) so I can start stuff from seed instead of buying plants. (YAY!). It’s a way cool frame too, made of pvc pipes and I can take it apart and store it in a small box. Pictures when it’s all done.

I told #4 he could have one of the 4 beds as his own, to grow whatever he likes, and he (this surprised me) wants eggplants, the kind with the huge purple fruits. He also wants watermelon- I’m going to encourage him toward the small sugar baby type- and sunflowers. Terry requested an assortment of peppers, and we picked out cubanelles (to pickle), poblanos (for the making of chiles rellenos) and long cayennes (for pepper sauce). I’m going to put in tomatoes, lemon cucumbers (an heirloom variety, they don’t taste like lemons, but are roundish and yellow), snow peas and english peas. #4 LOVES the peas, and I LOVE that they’re a vegetable he’ll go out to the garden and eat straight off the vine. I’m the same with tomatoes and cucumbers. There’s always at least one Sweet 100 tomato vine, and I eat them like candy.

There’s no one so optimistic as a gardener in the early Spring.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in Dewicate feewings, In The Garden, oh you self indulgent hussy!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooking

  1. Oh golly, I used to have a huge garden when I lived in the lowlands. I loved growing eggplants and yes, zucchini! ::sigh:: Maybe one year I can talk hubby into a greenhouse.

  2. Oh how I would love a garden.
    The first thing I thought of when I woke up today was a Egg McMuffin. Crazy.

    Have a great week.
    jj

  3. Bro. Scott says:

    Lemon cucumbers? Cool. Very cool indeed. (as a cucum ….)

    Had some at a birkenstock-y liberal-y restaurant in MA in their take on a tomato-cucumber salad.

    Lemon cukes
    Tomatoes
    goat cheese
    olive oil & white wine vinegar, drizzled, splashed

    • rootietoot says:

      Yum!
      Lemon cukes are stronger, more cucumber-y than the ones from the store, with tougher skins that generally require peeling, but they are fabulous for eating like an apple, straight from the garden.

Leave a Reply

