Good News and Bad News

First: the bad news
This (relatively) bitterly cold weather has annihilated my winter veg garden. So much for those tasty salad greens. I’m glad I didn’t plant the snow peas like I normally do.

The good news
(relatively) extended cold like this means the roses with be PHENOMENAL in the Spring. It totally makes it worth losing the greens.

The roses are my babies. It’s pure joy to me to go outside and pick a huge fragrant bouquet of beautiful long stemmed Pat Austins, Crocus, Comte du Champagne, and Belle Story blossoms and arrange them in a deep blue vase.

Pat Austin English Rose


I love to be in my vegetable garden, and be able to smell the aromatic antique gallica from 40 feet away, with it’s incredible profusion of golf-ball sized soft pink pompom flowers, each one fragrant enough to perfume a room on it’s own, stunning when there’s over 200 blooms on a bush. The Zephirine Drouhine tangles itself through the fence around the garden, with it’s classically shaped raspberry pink blossoms with their lemony scent. On the patio is a cheerful and ridiculous Cascade, with it’s tiny nickel-sized flowers,each looking like a perfect florist’s rose, Lilliput Version. It wraps around a tall stake, first one to bloom and last one to stop. We had Cascade roses in the Christmas arrangement on the dinner table.

The tiny Cascade

My favorite? The beautiful and unusual Lady of the Dawn, given to me for my birthday one year, 16 years ago. I’ve moved twice since then, and both times it moved with me. It’s no longer available commercially, and I will not give it up. It is a near single rose, with 5-10 petals. Ivory colored edged with gentle pink, and a prolific bloomer. It is by the back door, and unless I remember to trim it, will gently attack anyone who comes in.

Lady of the Dawn

Right now, with the cold, it’s time to prune them. I am nibbling my way through them, doing 3 or 4 bushes a day. It’s all my hands can stand. I am hardheaded about gloves, and won’t wear them (makes no sense but I’ve never claimed to be sensible), and the hands, they show it.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in home and hearth, Hooray!, In The Garden, oh you self indulgent hussy!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good News and Bad News

  1. Didn’t know that about the roses! That makes me happier about the frigid temps then…

  2. jerseechik says:

    Pretty- have you got your seed catalogs yet? Lots of daydreaming going on here over seed catalogs…

    • rootietoot says:

      oooh yes. Optimism Central when the seed catalogs are here. Pinetree See Co carries all this heirloom stuff I can’t pass up, but alas, my garden is so teeny I have to be very picky.

  3. Bella Rum says:

    So wonderful to hear about the scent of these roses. What a nice post in the middle of winter. Why do you think The Lady of Dawn is no longer available?

    • rootietoot says:

      Well, I’ve hunted around for it at the usual places (Thompkin’s, J&P where it came from) and can’t find it. Maybe someone else out there has it? It’s a delightful rose, hardy and disease resistant(in this humid and disease prone climate) and a very prolific bloomer. The flowers are gorgeous and long lasting in a vase, I just can’t imagine why it’s not readily available.

Leave a Reply

