BEcause it’s cold

Minestrone soup, y’all
It’s thick and hearty, full of tasty veggies and BACON! Well, ok, it I were officially Italian (which I’m not) I’d use pancetta (which I didn’t), but since that’s nothing but expensive fancy bacon, I substituted the American White Bread version: BACON. Anyway, here’s how it’s done:

In a nice big pot, add:
roughly 2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 thick (or maybe 3 or 4 thin) slices of bacon, diced
1 small onion, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
2 stalks of celery, chopped
Stir all this around on medium heat until the onion is translucent, then add
2 or 3 (or 4, if you like garlic like I do) cloves garlic, minced
Cook a little longer. Then add:
2 heaping handfuls fresh spinach, roughly chopped (or, i’d say about 1-1/2 to 2 cups frozen)
1- 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1 russet potato, peeled and chopped
Stir this up good and let cook a little bit, say 5-10 minutes. Then add:
2 cans good chicken stock (say, 30 oz? I make my own, so it was not quite 4 cups)
1 can white beans (great northern, or navy, or cannelini…whatever)
2 small zucchini, chopped
a generous handful of fresh chopped oregano (or let’s say about a generous teaspoon of dried)
a stalk of fresh rosemary (let’s call it 1/2 teaspoon dried)
black pepper to taste
Simmer it all real low until about 10 minutes before you eat , then add:
2 cups of small pasta (macaroni, shells, whatever) and cook until the pasta is done.
Serve with a generous sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top.

About rootietoot

I do what I can.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BEcause it’s cold

  1. That’s weird. Suddenly I MUST have soup!!!!

  2. Bro. Scott says:

    Yum!

    Here’s one for you:
    Corn, leek & potato chowder

    2 leeks, chopped fine
    One red bell pepper, diced
    Sweat down in 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
    Add one box o’ chicken broth
    Bring to boil

    Add 2 cups diced potatoes, 2 cups fresh corn
    Cook on low-med heat until potatoes are tender

    Whisk 1 tbsp flour into 1 cup milk until smooth
    Pour into soup, cook 5 min

    Remove about half of the cooked soup and puree in blender. Pour puree back into soup

    Season with salt and red pepper to taste

    Serve hot.

    • rootietoot says:

      This looks tasty. Potato leek soup in on the menu this week, perhaps I’ll try this. I think I’d add some cream or 1/2&1/2 there with the puree, and bust out my inner Paula Deen.

Leave a Reply

