Update on the cat

Gracie has the flu.

The vet tested her for the Really Nasty things- feline leukemia, feline AIDS, and she was negative for both. Apparently a cat that is strictly an indoor cat has a 1 in 10,000 chance of getting those, one who goes outside some (like Gracie) has a 1 in 10 chance. Thus, he said “get her vaccinated. We’ll do it as soon as she’s feeling better.” Yessir, I replied.

Thing of it is, her symptoms are common with every single thing a cat could get, be it a flu that will have her puny for a week, or AIDS that will kill her eventually.

Fortunately it’s just the flu.

Also fortunately, I don’t have to dose her with meds  every day. 2 shots, each lasting 2 weeks. That’s it.

Have you ever tried to dose a cat with anything? At least with a 2 year old child you can sit on them and pry their mouth open, pinch their nose shut and pour it down their throats*. With a cat you have to wrap them up like a demon-possessed burrito and somehow get past all those angry teeth, then it’s pissed at you for the rest of the day and poops in your shoe. My dosed 2 year olds were still in diapers and didn’t poop in my shoe.  Apparently veterinary science was aware of this and came up with long-lasting shots that the vet could deal with, and save the owners the misery of pooped-in shoes.  I may just bake the vet office a batch of cookies.

*Just so you know, I didn’t actually SIT on my 2 year old child. I would have him lay on the floor, then I would squat over him, with his head clamped between my knees. NO WEIGHT WAS ACTUALLY PUT ON HIS BODY. If you had known him, you would agree that this was the only way to get that stuff down his throat, even if it did taste like bubblegum.  He would get massive sinus infections and sore throats, so swallowing anything was misery, but it had to be done.  I wonder why they haven’t come up with a shot like the one for the cat, to give to toddlers.

So anyway, the cat is going to be ok, and I am relieved.  Like anyone with the flu, she’s going to feel Not Great for the next few days, and will need plenty of rest and water, and cannot go outside.

About rootietoot

1 woman,5 men, we coexist.
This entry was posted in *whinge*, cat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on the cat

  1. Jo says:

    That is good news about Gracie. I’m happy it’s nothing serious. My cats go outside too, but most of the time I’m more worried about them getting into fights with raccoons or other cats, or getting sprayed by a skunk, etc. I tend not to think about the viruses they could catch.

  2. Bella Rum says:

    Good for Gracie! I had a cat years ago, Mss Tibbs; she was diagnosed with feline leukemia. It was so sad. I’m glad Gracie doesn’t have that.

  3. Oh, poor thing. Give her a cuddle from us x

Leave a Reply

