Because it really is personal…


The book meme!
February 15, 2008, 7:47 pm
Filed under: Another Silly Meme

It’s back! and I have conveniently rearranged the bookcase since the last time, so you get the pleasure of something NEW!

1. Pick up the book nearest you with at least 123 pages.
2. Turn to page 123.
3. Count the first five sentences.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five other bloggers.

This type of synaptic transmission has been recognized only in the past few years. Actually, the mechanism of action was first determined for hormones and then for neurotransmitters. These slower chemical actions work by way of what are called second-messenger systems.
The Brain, a Neuroscience Primer by Richard F. Thompson.

I tag anyone who want to do this, just leave a note in the comments that you are. Tho I am tempted to tag Crazy Trace just to make her do it twice.



beware of cavities, it’s that sweet.
February 15, 2008, 3:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

phleud-n-kitten-005.jpg



February 15, 2008, 1:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ok, so I’m inconsistant. Sue me. I leave home for a bit to tend to my parents, hoping the whole time that the people here will miss me desperately and be unable to function at all without my guiding hand. So what do they do? They haul off and function just fine. Sweet Daddio gets them all to school, remembering to write a check for lunch money and even managing well when #4 has to stay home with a cold. They get fed decent (well, kinda) meals and laundry is washed and the house (with the exception of the dining table and I can’t fault him for that) pretty much looks the way it did when I left.

I’m trying hard not to let my feelings be hurt. But I am also kinda proud of them. This means, if I should decide to enroll in school, that they are capable of managing.

I shall choose to regard this as proof that I’ve trained them well. Yes, I shall.

Now, it’s jumping back into the daily grind with both feet and whalloping enthusiasm. There’s a long list of To-Do’s for the day, which I am studiously avoiding (can you tell?). Stuff like:

change the sheets and wash the blankets
dump rid-x in the toilet
make menus and grocery list
do the laundry
call Blue Cross about their refusal to compensate an x-ray on an OBVIOUSLY broken finger (What’s up with that noise? Hm?)
Buncha other stuff

I hate dealing with insurance. I mean, c’mon…It’s a fricken BROKEN FINGER. Even my untrained self can look at the image and see it. Was I supposed to not take my child to the doctor for it? Am I supposed to allow his finger to grow crooked and eventually develop arthritis, because some adjustor in Atlanta makes a judgement call based on averages and There Are Too Many Broken Fingers in Statesboro Georgia and You Suck? Ok, so it’s only $37, and I drop more than that at Walmart every week, but we pay for insurance FOR A REASON! It’s so it will defray the cost of medical care! I guaren-damn-TEE you we pay more than $37 for our coverage, and that (save the expense of the hip replacement) we have definitely paid in more to insurance than we have claimed. Certainly on the kids, who never see a doctor because they never get sick. Ridiculous. How many claims do they refuse on people to whom $37 represents 3 days of food for their family? I’m having serious issues here, and I’m not even a liberal. (oh please don’t take this as permission to start in about nationalized health care. I don’t even want to go there)

What I Think of Blue Cross of Georgia
snooz-cranky1.jpg




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers