Because it really is personal…


So whats for dinner at your house? We’re having butter.
November 22, 2007, 1:41 pm
Filed under: family, food

Today, it’s
roasted turkey stuffed with fresh thyme and lemons and butter
Mother in law’s stellar chicken dressing and butter
roasted acorn squash with butter
steamed green beans tossed with toasted pecans and brown butter
turnip greens (BLECH) and hot pepper sauce with butter
collard greens cooked with a smoked neckbone (YUM) with butter
fresh rolls with herb butter
pecan pie and sweet potato pie with butter
pepto bismol and alka seltzer

I won’t have to cook anything for DAYS after today.

Right now it’s 8:35 and, the turkey is cooking on the grill, the rolls are rising, the green beans and squash are prepped and ready to go. The collards are simmering, and a turkey neck is in a small pot with water and herbs, eggs are boiling to fortify the gravy (no, I don’t do giblets. Giblets are nasty).

I feel so efficient, I am certain there is something important I am forgetting. But that’s ok, because I’m wearing an Efficient Apron, and as long as I look competent, who care’s if I really am or not?



November 22, 2007, 11:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Stolen from Jersey Chick: A Thanksgiving Dinner Meme

Appetizer: What was you first ‘real’ job
Nanny for my high school art teacher and her new baby

Soup: Where would you go if you wanted to spark your creativity?
Someplace with dramatic geology- Palo Dura Canyon in Texas, or Utah

Salad: Complete this sentence: I am embarrassed when…
I’m in a room full of socially comfortable women, because I don’t know what to talk about.

Main Course: What values did your parents instill in you?
Mom:Spend your money on yourself, talk only about yourself, always try to be the center of attention.
Dad: Never rely on anyone else to do something, you can do it better than they can; When in doubt, force your opinion on the other guy.
Any wonder why I’m socially insecure?

Dessert: Name three fads from your teenage years.
Izod Lacoste polo shirts with the collar ‘popped’; Sperry Topsider deck shoes, no socks; Big Hair

Happy Thanksgiving y’all. May it be peaceful and free of familial discord, may the food be tasty and plentiful, and may the menfolk volunteer to do the dishes.

turkey.jpg




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers