Because it really is personal…


Hidey!
April 3, 2007, 8:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So, I’m switching from Blogger to WordPress. “Why Rootie? Why??” It’s simple: Because I feel the need for a change but I am loathe to actually pack up my bags and move.

So here I am, working on figuring out a whole new blog system. Bear with me while I stumble around in the dark.
Demon Dog test image

There are other irons in the fire as well. Hells Kitchen, a cooking blog, is about up but not quite. Omega is up but not yet running. I’m busy and if I’m not careful I’ll lose my Omega status and become a Beta.



I’m Moving!
April 3, 2007, 3:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am moving to WordPress. My new address will be:
Because It’s Personal
That is: http://becauseitspersonal.wordpress.com
This is the last and final post here. Au Revoir! Auf Weidersehen! Sayonara!
Bye y’all!



The Toot Household Felines
April 3, 2007, 2:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Molly isn’t our only cat, she’s just the only one #4 can play with, because for some inexplicable reason, he’s not allergic to her like she is to our other 2 cats, Junior and Morgan.

Junior, aka BubbaKitty or “You sorry-assed cat do something to earn your keep!”
He is a laid-back nip-head (or pot-head, if the nip happens to be potted)with an inperterbable countenance and no tail. Yes, he has no tail. We have concluded that a cat’s sense of ambition is centered in their tail, because Junior has none.

Junior, in an uncharacteristically noble pose
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Hey..whuzzat?
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Morgan is technically #1′s cat, but since he has moved into town and Morgan is unfamiliar with traffic situations, and used to being outside most of the time, we kept her. She is different from Junior, being graceful and elegant, and imperious.
Her perch is atop a post on our patio, where she is out of reach of the dogs and can look down on her fiefdom with haughty disdain.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I’d always wanted a siamese cat. They’re pretty and talkative and (theoretically) trainable. Junior’s not trained, since he lacks the ambition to move more than 2 or 3 yards before flopping over and rolling in the dirt. He’s like a 2 yr old that way. Because he’s tailess, we got him at a significant discount. He’s worth every penny too. He watches the birds to make sure they fly, he holds down the driveway to keep it from just folding up and rolling away. He informs us when the food bowl is empty, or when the food that is in the bowl is of inferior quality and needs replacing with lox and cream cheese. He fertilizes my flower bed with vigourous frequency,which makes weeding an adventure. He adores catnip. I always keep him a big nip plant available for him to roll on, nibble (or gnaw), or just be near for comfort and security. When he has been partaking of the nip, he gets goofy, all floppy and compliant.

Morgan is dignified. She has no patience for Junior and his redneck mannerisms. She, however, is also fond of the nip, and has been known to stand on her head in it. Not that anyone was watching, of course. She will occasionally sneak into the house and seek out the one spot where she is least welcome, and hide there for the entire day. This would be #4′s bedroom, and she perches on his pillow, looking smug. Then I have to wash every single thing in his room. I oughta make her do it except she lacks opposable thumbs and would have trouble with the door of the washing machine.

Good cats, both of them. Each entertaining and worthy in their own special way.



I love it when things work out the way I planned.
April 3, 2007, 2:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Remember this?
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now it’s this:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And this:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket



Wow..it’s so quiet here.
April 3, 2007, 7:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

O! The Children! Think about the Children! or…not. I say not. They are ALL (Yes, I said ALL. All 3 of them!) With the grandparents for a few days (‘Til Thursday, possibly Friday.) It’s Spring Break week in East Bumfart, Georgia. Thanks to my mother’s need for help doing spring yardwork, my father’s desire to get that 200cc Honda engine installed in a self-manufactured go-cart, and #4′s desire to fish, they are all 4 hours away in East Alabama. And I am here, just me, the dogs, and Sweet Daddio in the evenings. What to do!?

Well, the house is a mess. I’ll clean it up. The carpet (in 2 rooms)despertely requires some sort of cleaning. I’ll do that as well. Snow peas require picking.

Yes! I said snow peas require picking! They are needing to be picked! I have snow peas to pick! I must pick snow peas! And eat them! Yes!

I’m mulling over the OmegaMom concept with Northern Girl(whaling season). I’m also mullng over Hells Kitchen with Antiprincess (I shame the Matriarchy). Recipes, folks, and cooking/household advice. Soon the address and linkage will be up, and you can read and be amazed (or not).

Yesterday SD took the day off from work. It was also #1′s first day on his new job, working in the mill where SD works, only SD isn’t his immediate supervisor (which would be awkward if he were). SD advised #1 to call him “SD” or “Mr. Toot” instead of “Dad”, to avoid tension amidst the other personel. #1 said he enjoyed his first day. They put him to work seaming rolls of fabric (it has to be done perfectly or the material will rip within the machine, and that is a very bad thing indeed) and he apparently caught on very quickly. THen they had him doing nasty dirty physical grunt work (probably a rite of passage sort of thing) and he cheerfully did that as well. Once you’ve worked on a high speed printing press, you tend to not be bothered by grunge.

SD and I played golf, on a most perfect day for such things. It was 80 degrees, partly cloudy, no one much was playing so we didn’t hold anyone up without slow pace. There was no one to see me play badly so I wasn’t embarrassed or self concious. SD played well, too. The one time someone was watching he drove the ball right up to the green, within about 6 feet of the hole. I just made absolutely sure no one was watching me at all. I can’t drive a ball to save my life. The whole thing was fun, relaxing, and I got to spend 2-1/2 uninterrupted hours with my favorite person. And eat lunch at The Blue Moon. I had a rare filet sliced thin with horseradish-thyme cream, baby greens and tomatoes on grilled bread. Yum. I mean really. Yum.

So today, it’s rainy and breezy and I’m going to stay inside (except for when I go pick SNOW PEAS!) and clean.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers