Because it really is personal…


It’s not an outrage because he called Jesus’ name.
October 31, 2006, 2:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

FOXNEWS.COM HOME > U.S.

Illinois Teen Shouting for Jesus Dies When Police Taser Him

JERSEYVILLE, Ill. — Authorities are investigating the death of a 17-year-old boy who died after officers in this St. Louis-area community shot him twice with a stun gun while he carried a Bible and cordless telephone, shouting “I want Jesus.”

Roger Holyfield died Sunday night at a St. Louis hospital, a day after the former Jersey Community High School’s confrontation with police.

In a statement obtained Tuesday by The Associated Press, police in this community about 40 miles north of St. Louis said Holyfield would not acknowledge officers who approached him, continuing to yell “I want Jesus.”

Now then…My guess is that the ACLU and other Civil Rights organizations won’t do much about this. I dearly hope I’m wrong, but I don’t think I am.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The question is: Will they?

Comment by Rootietoot

I think you are wrong, Rootie. The ACLU has defended Christian religious expression on *many* occassions. (I have a link that lists some of the cases on my computer at home, but I’m at work right now so I can’t get to it.) For the ACLU to get involved with this, there would need to be evidence that the cops tasered the kid *because* he was carrying a Bible and/or shouting about Jesus. Do we know that was the reason?

Comment by Amber




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers