Because it really is personal…


poor poor pitiful me poorpoorpitifulme
October 17, 2006, 12:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I feel as though someone has inserted 2 pickled meyer lemons way up my nose into behind my eyes.

My throat’s not sore anymore, thank you Long Haired Hippie-Freak Tea Company called Celestial Seasonings and their Lemon Zinger blend.

I keep cough-sneezing, wads of tissues all over because I’m too whupped to fetch a trash can. If I leave them long enough, the dogs will handle it.

I think I brought up a lung a bit ago. Rosie looked concerned and Lily licked my toes.

I hate this, feeling sick and useless. My whole sense of self is wrapped up in what I can do and when I can’t do for a few days (ugh…I just realized I haven’t brushed my teeth today…nasty) I get all pitiful and O! Poor Me! and stuff, and I lean on Classico from a jar for supper. Yes indeed. Sauce from a jar, salad from a bag, and let the 15 yr old cook the noodles. Do we live in a great country or what!



Never a dull moment
October 17, 2006, 8:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday, I was cleaning up the kitchen after supper and I wondered to myself “what would happen if something really, really random took place. Like, while taking #4 to school, there was an elephant walking down the median. Or if the Publishers Clearing House Toadies showed up and gave me a check for a zillion $$.”

While I was having these thoughts I was wiping down the counters and table, moving items and replacing them. Then it occurred to me. One of the items was a defused hand grenade. On my kitchen table. As if that were the most ordinary thing there was. Salt, pepper, hand grenade. Who needs elephants?

Then, as I ponder elephants, hand grenades, and the stain on the kitchen table that looks like Woody Allen, #4 goes trotting by, dragging a chunk of firewood on a string. I asked him, “#4, what are you doing?”. He stops and gives me a blank look for a few seconds, and replies, “I’m walking my log.”

SOmetimes you really have to watch out what you wish for.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers